I have seen on Facebook so many posts in regards to there being a notification setting for Civid-19 on mobile devices,, yes in the updates there is a new setting under Google settings. Google already keeps track of your location if you turn it on at all , whether it is so can post to Facebook where you are at or use it for Google maps while driving.
I have no worries about Google maps knowing where I was or where I go, it can be useful if ever questioned by police etc as to where you were on a certain date and time. I know the concern from people is the government gaining access to that information and gaining access to your contacts etc. The thing is that currently under the settings, you need install the Covid-19 app for this to work and the data is meant to be deleted after 21 days, the worry is that the data will be kept longer and 3rd parties gaining access.
The first image is the one shared so much with hype about not having given permission for it, it is a option that had to be installed by whatever operating system your mobile device runs, for people that install th Covid-19 app. The second image shows the screen if people click to see options for the Covid-19 notifications and clearly states notifications can only be turned on if install participating app.
There is no need for the attempt at causing hysteria over the update inserting the option for notifications to be turned on for the Covid-19 app, as stated it is a option that was required to be installed in a upgrade so the app could work to give you a notification if had possible contact with a known Covid-19 infected person.